Leaves and Puddles

26 09 2007

acadia.jpg

Fall is definitely my favorite time of year.  Allow me to make my case.

Exhibit A.  The obvious cool-down, which is usually pretty drastic where I live.  After enduring days of 100+ degree summerness and sweat, the delta breeze is most appreciated.

Exhibit B.  School is back in full swing, which returns our family to a more regular schedule.  For the most part, I don’t care for spontaneity; I am a planner, and I like the plan to be written down on my calendar.  I’m not neurotic about it; just don’t throw me a surprise party.  I don’t respond well.  Anyway, back to school.  My daughter’s school always has a lot of family events and activities going on, too, including Back to School Night, the Ice Cream Social and Book Fair, and those inevitable FUNdraising events and campaigns that we all know and love (as a self-diagnosed catalogaholic, I don’t mind them).  School provides a social environment that has brought new friends into our lives and even reconnected us with folks from the past.  Every fall, I look forward to seeing those familiar faces and catching up with people.

Exhibit C.  Of course there are the fall leaves, which I love.  Don’t we all?  I find myself talking to God out loud when I see such beautiful colors.  “Lord, that is gorgeous!  Thank you for this incredible artwork.”  It really blesses me.  (Sunsets have the same effect.)  One day, I’d love to see the display back East.  I hear it is breathtaking.

Exhibit D.   The seasons are a great excuse for changing things up a bit in and around the house.  That makes me feel good.  Next weekend, I am excited to drag out the fall decor tub and decorate a bit.  I never thought I’d be the type of person who had a fall decor tub, but I was wrong. 

Exhibit E.  Among my fall decor, I always have my fall fragrances that I love!  I’ll start burning my gingerbread, pumpkin spice, and apple-scented oils and candles.  YUM.  You’d think filling the home with olfactory flavors would make us hungry all the time, but I find that satisfaction can come through the nose. 

Exhibit F.  Fall brings anticipation of “the holidays!”  I’m always just about done with my Christmas shopping by this time, and I start looking forward to WRAPPING GIFTS!  Wrapping gifts is something I thoroughly enjoy.  If only I could make a living doing just this.  It’s a struggle for me to wait, but if I start too soon, I might end up with a pile of dusty Christmas gifts by the time December rolls around!  eek. 

Exhibit G.  My favorite thing about fall is the RAIN (sorry dray):  the look of it, the sound of it, the feel of it, and especially the smell of it.  Except outside my office, where the rain softens up the crow droppings on the sidewalk – that is NOT olfactory satisfaction there.  For some reason, on rainy days, I feel like I can accomplish so much.  It’s like the sun pressures me in a negative way to be productive before it goes down, but the clouds are like a shield that alleviates that negative pressure and causes me to WANT to be productive.  I’m weird.

Exhibit H.   Finally, fall brings two very special birthdays:  my main men.  One is turning 31.  The other is turning 2.

What are YOUR favorite things about fall?

I hope you enjoy it even half as much as I do.

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 09 2007
Rowan

I, too, love the transitional seasons best. While you have covered most of my reasons for loving fall, here in Merced there are some differences to Auburn. We have more trees that loose their leaves than evergreens here. I enjoy that a lot, especially the maple leaves the size of dinner plates. Also, Yosemite in November is just magical. Harvest season takes on a whole new meaning when your are surrounded by literal farmland. What a bounty this valley provides for the nation. We even get a second harvest of strawberries in Ocotber! Almonds, pecans, walnuts, apples, pomegranates, sweet potatoes, squash… But none of it compares to my favorite holiday – HALLOWEEN!!! What are you gonna be?

1 10 2007
Annie

Not big on Halloween, myself. Probably forgoing a costume this year. But I cannot wait to see what the Rhoades’ have in store!

3 10 2007
Kddub

I never thought i’d have a fall tub either, but my decorations are starting to grow into that! I love buying fall colored flowers for my porch, I like that it’s cool but sunny enough to go outside. I like going to pumpkin patches, and I too love the spice scented candles!

8 10 2007
Dan Ray

I used to like rain too, a lot. Then it turned evil and never left. ‘cept for it’s gone today.

Leave a Reply

