Positive Post Tuesday

15 04 2008

Every Tuesday, there is a group of people that stand at the corner of 16th and J, begging drivers to honk for peace.  They wear colorful boas, wave flags, and hold up signs that protest the war in Iraq and slander our President. 

“End the war!”

“We want our troops home!”

“Impeach Bush!”   

I pass right through this ruckus as I walk to my vanpool stop on my way home.  And I really don’t like it.  I feel like these are the (type of) people who cause division in our country.  This division weakens us as a nation.  It makes us look foolish.  I know they believe passionately in their cause and hope that they may facilitate change… by getting folks to honk their horns… hmm.  But I see it as rebellion and blatent disrespect.

In my brief search, I couldn’t find anything in the Bible  that tells us to support and pray for our President (anyone?).  As long as I can remember, though, pastors and teachers have encouraged me to do it.  Democrat?  Republican?  It doesn’t matter.  The man/woman who sits in this seat was willing to take on the responsibility, elected by the people, and allowed by God to hold this status.  We don’t always see God’s purposes, but we trust that He is in control and follow His Lead.

I am pretty doggone sure George Bush Jr. will not be reading my blog.  My hope is that I might encourage more of you to lift this man up in your prayers – regularly.  It is your vehicle to cause quite possibly the biggest impact on your nation that you can.  Some may already see Bush as a lame duck; the campaigns are headline news.  However, Bush faces a lot of pressure and persecution, still.

I feel that our country is blessed to have a believing brother serve as President.  He needs your support and prayer.  You don’t have to agree with everything he does, just trust that God is there. 

Proverbs 8:14-16

 14 Counsel and sound judgment are mine;
       I have understanding and power.

 15 By me kings reign
       and rulers make laws that are just;

 16 by me princes govern,
       and all nobles who rule on earth.

(NIV)

And ALWAYS give God the glory.

This song was laid on my heart in the wee hours of this morning.  I hope that it blesses you and that you, in turn, will bless the Lord with it.

Give ear to my words, oh Lord.

Consider my meditation.

Hearken unto the voice of my cry:

My King and my God!

For unto thee will I pray.

My voice shalt Thou hear in the morning.

Oh Lord in the morning,

Shall I direct my prayers

Unto Thee and will look up.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 04 2008
Barb

Great Post Annie..
I am reminded that when I was a child, in the movies, the President was never shown. There was such respect for the office and the man that when someone played the President in the movies, his face was never shown.
It put that much of an impact in my life, I still remember those times in the 50’s.
It was a patriotic time. i’m very glad I lived then.
Barb

15 04 2008
Rowan

My Sweet Salami,
For like 2 weeks now I have had that same sweet song stuck in my head out of Psalm 5. So reminds me of FBCA times.
We are called in scripture to pray for our leaders (king) in 1 Tim 2:1-5. Like you said, I don’t agree with everything, but I still pray for the man and his administration. It’s something I’ve done for every Presidency, but honestly, not as often as I should simply because I am lazy.
I had written out an extensive response to some things you said in this post, but my hard head yeilded to the Holy Spirit. In honor of positive post Tuesday I will simply say I’m trusting that God is there. 🙂
much love…

3 06 2008
genepensiero


great post.

as for instructions in the Bible to pray for our leaders, you could cite 1 Timothy 2.1-4 as a text instructing us to do so.

as well as the commands to pray for fellow believers AND for our enemies…so…no matter who you are, if you’re a christian you should be praying for your president.

anyway, well said, thanks for visiting my blog.

blessings

Leave a Reply

