What is this?

26 04 2008

So, we moved into our present rental home in the fall.  The weather was just starting to get cold and wet, and by the time we got settled in, we pretty much stayed IN.

Now that it’s warming up, we’ve been much more inclined to spend time outdoors.

Yesterday, my son and I planted some bulbs, watered existing plants, and pulled lots of weeds around the house.  It was a beautiful day, and we enjoyed the time together.

In the above photo, my son is playing in the thing that I’d been keeping my potted plants in for the winter.  Somehow, they mostly survived with little attention.  I lost my lavender, and my rubber tree plant is not in the greatest shape.  But…

My question for readers is “Exactly what IS that ‘thing that I’d been keeping my potted plants in?'”

Could it be an old well?

I have no idea, and neither does our landlady.

Hope you are all enjoying the spring!

Actions

Information

7 responses

26 04 2008
thisiskristin

I was going to ask you the same thing… I bet it’s some kind of water well, or old laundry thing. It’s cool looking though.

Good luck with your plants, I love lavender. Fun that it’s warming up.

26 04 2008
AnnieD

It looks like the thing in the episode of I Love Lucy where they squish the grapes and make wine.

But that’s probably not what it is…. 🙂

28 04 2008
Noel

Take a picture of what the inside looks like and I should be able to tell you if it looks like an old well. It’s an odd set up, but it does look like there is a “pipe” going down the middle. Does it look like it goes into the ground (the pipe)? Is there a way to open the top of it (even with effort or special tools)? I haven’t seen a well set up like this before, but it could be super old I suppose. How old is the house? If it is a well, be glad you don’t own the house, and if it ever gets to the point of buying it (or another) make sure the seller abandons the well properly as part of the agreement.

Otherwise, it looks like it would make a cool planter…

28 04 2008
annie

Noel – I’ll email you some photos of the inside when I get a chance. I think the house was built in 1940.

30 04 2008
Michael Nease

I think it looks like an old wine press or something.

12 05 2008
annie

I think I’ve figured this out! Post coming soon.

5 06 2008
Follow-up to “What is this?” « redcedar

[…] to “What is this?” 5 06 2008 If you read THIS POST, you’ll recall that I promised a follow-up. The comments had some interesting suggestions as […]

Leave a Reply

