Positive Post Tuesday

29 04 2008

Eleven years ago, today, I spent an entire day in labor with my first child.

I was living in Arcata, CA.  A college student at Humboldt State. 

My roommate was sweet enough to be my birth coach, because my boyfriend (now husband) was working out of town.  She was fantastic.  My mom was a great comfort, too.

At 2:15am, tomorrow morning, my daughter will turn 11.  Ryvre Leigh was a beautiful baby, a darling Kindergartener, and is now blossoming into a lovely young lady.  I believe they are now calling them, “tweens.”  She is catching up to me in height and shoe size.  Soon, we will be sharing clothes, just like I did with my mom.

Ryv likes fake nails, high heels, and anything with a skull pattern on it.  She’s mostly a girly-girl, but she does have her tomboy side.  She has her daddy’s sweet tooth and love for music.  She wants to go into show business and “knows” she is going to be famous someday.  (I used to think the same thing when I was her age!)

We have done our best to teach this girl how to love others, stand up for what is right, make God her priority, and be a genuine and trustworthy friend.  I feel like the time is approaching when she will begin to face trials that really test her faith and morals.  She’s had to make difficult decisions already regarding friendships at school; next year is junior high (eek!).  Ryan and I are always warning her about the pressures she may face and encouraging her to be confident in making wise choices.  She has a really close relationship with her dad; it’s a beautiful thing.  I hope that she will learn from his mistakes and not feel like she needs to experiment!!!

So far, I think she is heading in the right direction.  Ryvre is proving herself to be a caring, honest, and responsible person.  She is super helpful with her little brother, takes pretty good care of her pet rabbit, is getting better at keeping her room clean, is doing her own laundry, and even makes dinner for the family sometimes.

It’s wierd because I can hardly remember life without her.  I feel like 11 years have been 25.  In a good way!  She has been a huge inspiration for me, and I am excited about how our relationship will grow and deepen as more years go by. 

Ryvre, if you read this, know that I love you more than words can say.  Thank you for being the special girl that you are.  I look forward to watching you continue to mature as you develop your talents and dreams in life. 

I find I am praying for her more, the older she gets.  Let me encourage you parents out there to do the same with your own. 

[Anyone recognize where the photo was taken?]

Actions

Information

7 responses

29 04 2008
Noel

Wow! I can hardly believe it’s been 11 years since that night we sat up waiting for her to arrive and making the trip to the hospital. As embarassing as that first trip was, I’m so glad we were too early. It wouldn’t have been the same without Ryan and your family there. Thank you, my friend for one of the best experiences of my life. I will always cherish those memories.

Ryvre has grown into a beautiful girl, and although I do not know her as well as I would like, I’m sure she is as delightful as her parents with a heart just as big. My love to you all…

29 04 2008
Brody

I totally forget the name of that park… but it’s the one off Auburn Ravine right?

29 04 2008
annie

You got it, Brody! Ashford.

29 04 2008
Emily Nease

I’ve got to say that my little cuz (who is now probably my height) is totally hardcore and awesome. She’s my angel, my darling “baybay!”

29 04 2008
thisiskristin

I can’t believe she’s 11! She’s always been so cute and pretty. It’s sweet she’s got a good relationship with you guys, and it’s awesome that you are praying for her, that is something I need to do more for my kids…

Happy Birthday to Ryvre!

29 04 2008
Rowan

Ashford Park duck pond! I had to to type it fast before I read the other comments!
Happy Birthday, Ryvre! I can still remember waiting up for the phone call from Noel and hearing she had arrived safely! great post, Salami!

7 05 2008
Dan Ray

Holy Ashford Park.

../speechless.

Leave a Reply

