Positive Post Tuesday

3 06 2008

Seven year itch? What’s that?

June 2, 2001 (Chico, CA)

So, yesterday was our 7th anniversary. We’ve been together for 12. Been close friends for about 20.

To celebrate, we had our traditional night out for sushi. Mmmmm! Because of how expensive everything is getting, we haven’t been able to eat at restaurants much these days. So, sushi was a real treat.

The food was good. The kids were on their best behavior. And we are excited about moving into our eighth year.

Nobody told us marriage would be easy. It’s a lot of work and sacrifice. But people wouldn’t do it if the benefits didn’t outweigh the costs. And they really do.

I have the best, best friend in Ryan. When he is with me, I feel protected. When we’re with others, he is always making people laugh. He is familiar with all my quirks, and like them or not, he lives with them. He never makes fun of me (I’m a little sensitive about being made fun of) or embarrasses me in front of others. He gave me two precious children, and he loves them as much as I do.

But this post is not for Ry. I already did that, and besides, he doesn’t seem interested in reading blogs much. That’s ok. I can look past this flaw.

This post is to build up all the married folks out there. If you’re reading this, I hope that you are willing to put your all into your marriage. Your spouse is second only to God. Listen to each other. Serve each other. Minister to each other. Encourage each other. Pray for each other. God will bless your relationship, and your relationship will bless others.

If you’re not married, but you think you might want to be one day, pray for that future spouse. I don’t mean pray for God to give them to you; I mean pray for their spiritual growth and their physical health. Ask the Lord to bless them. And don’t forget to prepare your own heart to love them and be loved.

I Corinthians 7:17

For more of this week’s Positive Post Tuesdays, CLICK.

Actions

Information

7 responses

3 06 2008
Kelli

Great post! Prayer never ceases to amaze me. It definitely continues to make our marriage stronger in ways we cant even comprehend. Congratulations on 7 years!

3 06 2008
Barb

Thanks, Annie…
Great post. Yep, Mike and are are having our 26th this year. It just gets better.
We could not have done it without the Lord.
Love you guys…..Barb

3 06 2008
Dr. Rus

Happy Anniversary!

Great post and you’re absolutely right. No one said it would be easy. My wife and I are coming up on our 25th anniversary next Feb!

Be blessed!
Dr. Rus

3 06 2008
Rowan

Happy Anniversary!
Love,
Your BSH!

5 06 2008
Jeremy Burch

This post created two firsts. The first first is, your blog is the first friend blog to have me, the real me, post a comment. It’s usually James Guhn that posts comments. The second first is, your blog is the first friend blog to be shared with all the Jimmy the Gun readers via my Google Reader Shared items.

This blog came a a neat time for me. I just lost my job, and the most supportive person for me was my wife. I thought she’d be disappointed with me. Well, if she is she’s hidden it really well. Instead she helped me through a tough thing. She too is my best, best friend.

5 06 2008
annie

Jeremy – THANKS! I feel so special.

Lisa is special, too, and I’m so glad you have her.

9 06 2008
MEMe

I did it again, IO think I completely missed Beck and Jeremy’s Anniversary and now just yesterday I saiod to Dea, isn’t it Annie and Ry’s Anniversary, she said , “I think it is around the 26th, and of course I still haven’t looked at our old calendar to check it out but will do my best to make it good, even if late…I’ve always tried to remember to give you money for yoyr sushi dinners. I love your blogs and you have such insight in to god’s plan for a real marriage, you can truly see that God is most important and anyone who has read your comments cannot help but think twice about their marriage or if planning for a marriage partner. We’re so thankful for your dedication to God and your family,
Love you both very much!!

Leave a Reply

