Follow-up to “What is this?”

5 06 2008

If you read THIS POST, you’ll recall that I promised a follow-up. The comments had some interesting suggestions as to what my current potted plant holder actually is (or was). Well, I think I’ve figured it out!

My street is called, Aeolia. Aeolia is italian for “olive.” There’s good reason for the name of my street. All along the canyon side is a huge olive orchard. We also have a very old, brick building down the way that used to – and still might, I’m not sure – process olives.

Are you starting to figure it out?

I am 99% sure that my potted plant holder is an old olive press. I tried to do some online research, and here are some of the photos I was able to find of olive presses:

We’re just missing those huge wheel-like crushers that press the oil out of the olives!

Check out this one. Some people turned an olive processing plant into their home, and they left the press right there in the middle.

I thought that was pretty neat.

So, do you think I got it right? It’s a pretty cool historical feature of the property we’re living on. I wish I could find out more information about this old house, but all I know is what our landlord told us (and from what others have said, it may not be very accurate).

Anyway, I just wanted to give you all some closure! I’m sure you were all at the edges of your seats.

Actions

Information

5 responses

5 06 2008
Emily Nease

good research annie, i’m convinced that it’s an olive press.

5 06 2008
thisiskristin

that is amazingly cool!!!! You know, now that I think of it, where we lived in Auburn, had a bunch of olive trees.

5 06 2008
6justmyopinion

That is so interesting. I love that. It is very fun to investigate the history of where you live.
Fun post, Annie.

6 06 2008
Noel

Very cool! I think you are totally correct.

7 06 2008
Rowan

You are so SMART! 2 pats on your back! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

