Positive Post Tuesday

10 06 2008

This week, for Positive Post Tuesday, I want to introduce you to my sisters.

Two of the most beautiful brides I’ve ever seen!

I always wanted a sister, growing up. Now, I have two! And they are wonderful.

Becky and Lindsey are both younger than me. I’ve known them for a very long time, as several of us married into families from church and became this crazy but cool big family. Through these marriages, I am now related to a bunch of my youth group friends (including Jeremy)! Ok, no jokes about inbreeding, please. None of that going on here…

Becky is my husband’s sister. She grew up with three brothers, so she was very excited to finally have a sister, too! In fact, she cried when Ryan and I got engaged. It was really cute. Through the years, we have been through simultaneous pregnancy, raising our eldest kids together, living as roomies under my parents’ roof (and sharing a bed – HEY – no jokes!), many road trips to San Luis Obispo, campouts to Lake Tahoe, and hours spent at Starbuck’s talking about everything. I know I can tell her anything without offending her or being judged, and for that, she is awesome. In September, the four of us (Ryan, me, Becky, and her husband Jeremy) are heading to Disney World. Yep, we’re leaving the kids behind this time, and it’s going to be so much fun! I love my Becky.

Lindsey is my brother’s wife. I am so glad he has her. She is the little sister of two friends I grew up with.  I don’t think any of us imagined David and LIndsey would even start dating, but when they did, it was immediately evident that they were good for each other. They both quit smoking, started going to Bible Study, and soon enough were exchanging vows in her parents’ back yard. They have caught up to us with babies, and the cousins always have fun together. Lindsey and I share a lot of the same tastes in art, furniture, clothing, and food. We also share a love for animals, nature, and nutrition. She’s always full of good ideas and willing to try new things. I love that, and I love hanging out with her. She’s been an easy fit into our family.

Girls, if you are reading this, I hope you are built up, today. Both of you are doing such a great job as wives, mothers, and SISTERS. I appreciate you for who you are and for the positive effects you’ve had on me and the rest of the family. How blessed can I be? God gave me two sisters – sweet, caring, and beautiful, inside and out. I love you both dearly.

I wrote about marriage last week. Well, the sibs-in-law are definitely one of the benefits that I enjoy!

Thank you today, Good Lord, for Becky and Lindsey.

Actions

Information

6 responses

10 06 2008
Rowan

Oh, I love me some Becky-Boo and Lindsey-Lou! Lucky (blessed!) you!
Wonderful girls w/ wonderful hearts; Give them squeezes for me!

10 06 2008
6justmyopinion

Great post, Annie. It is evident to see that you all love each other so much. It is very encouraging. Don’t you love small towns.

Barb

10 06 2008
Dan Ray

how are you related to jeremy again?

11 06 2008
annie

Jeremy is my brother’s wife’s brother’s wife’s cousin’s husband.

or…

I am Jeremy’s wife’s cousin’s husband’s sister’s husband’s sister.

Get it? ha!!

12 06 2008
Rowan

Annie – you can’t explain it like that to Dray! It so plays into the NorCal “hick” stereotype. HE HE HE. Funny stuff…

12 06 2008
annie

There’s no other way to explain it!

Leave a Reply

