Positive Post Tuesday

17 06 2008

This week, I want to build up my other brother-in-law, Gary.

Gary is the baby.

When I met him, he was probably 3 or 4 years old. I remember thinking he looked so much like Ryan but with blond hair. He was so cute; I used to chase him around church, trying to get a hug from him! He was fortunate to grow up with 3 older siblings that looked out for him. And they still do.

One thing I will never forget is when Gary came home (from school, I think) in tears because somebody said something bad about Jesus. Not only was this little boy hurt by the comment against his God, but it seemed he was hurting for the person who said it because they didn’t know Him. I remember being amazed at Gary’s heart that day. That was a powerful testimony to me; my greatest hope is for my own children to love Jesus that same way.

Gary has grown into a responsible, intelligent, compassionate (and still rather sensitive) young man. And he’s still cute; he’s a great “catch.” I love our conversations. And I love the way he is such a great uncle to my kids.

During the past few weeks, my sweet brother-in-law has been going through some difficult times. I won’t go into detail, because I didn’t even give him a heads-up about writing this. But I just want to ask you, readers, to please take a moment and send up a prayer for Gary. He has lots of people around that are loving on him, but he needs the Lord’s unsurpassed PEACE and COMFORT right now. I believe in the power of prayer, which is the only reason I ask.

Gar-Bear, if you happen to read this, I just wanted to remind you that God has a Plan. Sometimes, it’s hard to see where He’s taking you or why, but just know that He has what’s best for you in mind. Life will be full of hills, valleys, and hairpin turns. I hope you will put your trust in God, and use life’s trials to grow closer to Him. God will be glorified, and you will be blessed. I love you!

Let’s all remember to pray for our family members. Sometimes, we don’t even know about the struggles they may be facing. Don’t get wrapped up in your own life too much to miss out on opportunities to lift up others. Even if you don’t have a blog and can’t write a Positive Post Tuesday!

God bless.

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 06 2008
Leslie Brooke

Thanks for sharing! A great reminder to remember our families, something I don’t do enough!

18 06 2008
Dea

Annie, Thank for those words. I read it to Gary and Matthew, Idon’t usually cry but you got. Actually all 3 of us were very touched. Thank you for your Love, concern and most of all your prayer. Dea

Leave a Reply

