Postitive Post Tuesday

8 07 2008

I missed this last week, but I am back on board!

Even though my brother doesn’t use the internet, I have chosen him to build up today.  Randy wrote about him already, but it’s my turn!

This is David.

 

 

He was born 5 days before my 3rd birthday, and I remember that day.  I sat in the hospital hallway with my Grandma, waiting for my mom to appear.  She arrived in a wheelchair, baby in her arms.  I remember holding him when we got home, while sitting on the couch. 

Once he could sit up, I remember making boats out of cushions and pretending we were sailing on the ocean.  We built airplanes out of cardboard boxes.

Then, we got to the ages where we fought all the time.  It usually started over something stupid, but it would sometimes escalate into a contact sport during which David would get hurt.  (This was when I was still bigger than him).  I would beg him not to tell Mom, and he would wipe his tears and nod.  Every time. 

He never told on me.

He’d give me money from his allowance if I wanted to buy something I didn’t have enough money for.

He always let me have the first pick of anything.

Fast-forward into the high school and college years…  The older you get, the smaller the age difference feels.  We shared a lot of friends.  David visited me frequently at Humboldt.  We’ve had some deep talks about God, family, and our own lives – regrets and hopes.

My brother has grown into a caring, honest, hard-working man.  He has a great wife and two beautiful children.  He, unlike myself, has managed to stay out of debt; for that I admire him.  He’s working toward his dreams and getting there fast!

David, if you get the chance to read this, I just want you to know that I am so glad you are my brother.  You are one of those people that I know will always be there for me.  I value your opinions and views.  I appreciate your hospitality and the time you spend with my kids.  I’m proud of you, and I hope you know that.  You’re doing a great job!

For more PPT, go to Brody’s Blog.

And remember to visit today’s fasting bloggers, Prairie and Charley.

Thanks for stopping by, and God bless.

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 07 2008
rlh27

I fully agree with you, I’ve known david since we were 5 and he’s one of the people I can honestly say I never want to loose him as a friend.

it was really cool to hang with him while i was in town. I cant wait to see him and his wife and kids again.

9 07 2008
Great-Granny Grandma

Thanks for visiting my blog, and now I’m really enjoying visiting yours. It’s an unexpected blessing on a day that didn’t start out so good. Your brother sounds like a very special guy, and you have some wonderful pictures posted. and I’m still reading.

2 08 2008
mangeangeRug

Tahnks for posting

Leave a Reply

