Anxiety and Peace

25 07 2008

Yesterday was not the best day.

The credit card debt went up a bit.

I found out that my 2 year old got his hands on his sister’s markers again. The poor bookcases, window sills, and CARPET…

Then, my car wouldn’t start. (Hopefully, it’s just out of gas.)

I was in tears by 1:00 in the afternoon.

There was only one thing left to look forward to: Hope Cafe!

My church hosted a women’s event last night, for which the sanctuary was transformed into an adorable coffee shop and dessert bar. It was just what I needed! Think Someone knew that?

We were blessed by each others’ company, sweet music, and an encouraging local speaker. As a mother of SIX, she has learned a few things over the years and was enthusiastic about sharing them. Because her message sunk into my heart like rain in the desert, I want to share it with you, too. Maybe I’m not the only one that needed it…

When you discover somebody in danger or seriously injured, EMTs will tell you to use the 3 Cs: CHECK, CALL, and CARE.

It’s important to CHECK your environment before you rush to the scene. If you skip this step, you might end up doubling the problem, becoming a second person in need of help or rescue! In everyday life, when life starts to get to you, and you are worried about what to do… CHECK your attitude. Are you asking yourself what YOU are going to do? or do you wonder, “What is GOD going to do?” Your answer determines whether you will end up beaten down by anxiety or held up by peace. In First Peter 5:7, the Lord instructs us to cast all our cares/anxiety upon Him. I have heard this countless times – and yet – last night I realized that I don’t do it very often. I am always trying to fix things and minimize the damage… And the tension pain in my shoulders will vouch for that! Give it to God. He will take it in exchange for PEACE! So awesome.

Next, make sure you know who to CALL. If you don’t know the answer to that, we need to talk.

Finally, the CARE part. This will be so much easier if we’ve exercised step one! Once it’s in God’s Hands, we can go about taking care of things with confidence, knowing that the Creator of the Universe is in charge!

Thank You, Lord, for the Hope Cafe and for speaking into my heart exactly what I needed to hear. Thank you for being ever-present, for caring for even the sparrow, and for having such fabulous timing. I trust in Your Plan. I’m casting!

40 Day Fast Update:

Yesterday, Kristin posted a great message about Fair Trade. Alex wrote about loving our neighbors. If you missed them, go back and read them!

Today’s fasting bloggers are Melissa and Clint.

We are coming down to the final stretch. Have you been Inspired to Action, yet? Do tell!

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 07 2008
Brody

Great post, I loved that message.

Hope you are having a better day today!

26 07 2008
thisiskristin

that was Kristin, not Brody. Sorry about that, he’s been using my computer.

26 07 2008
Rowan

Our God is awesome, whether I trust Him with my cares or not. Sure would be easier to trust Him! Great timing and great message. Thanks, Salami. can’t wait to see you!

27 07 2008
Kristin D

I loved this post, I totally needed it yesterday. I almost told you when I saw you, but thought that it might be wierd. Matt has been working out of town, and it has been hard. I think I might cut and copy it and put it on my mirror, so I can keep thinking about it.

27 07 2008
annie

I think it’s a message we can all use a refresher on once in a while! I know I really needed it.

Steph – I can’t wait to see you, too!

Kristin – it was nice seeing you, and I don’t think it would have been weird at all. It would have been nice if we’d gotten our smoothies at the same time, though, so we could sit and talk… Maybe some other time.

Leave a Reply

