Read (books) and learn.

13 08 2008

I mentioned in my post for the 40 Day Fast that I picked up a book “recently.”  As someone who is not a pleasure-reader, I am proud to say that I am now 3/4 of the way through my book!  This may not seem like much of an accomplishment for most of you, but it’s a big deal to me.  I think reading is important, and I don’t do enough of it.  (Maybe things need to change?)

Anyway, if you haven’t read Under the Overpassby Mike Yankoski yet, I am publicly recommending it again.  I haven’t experienced homelessness myself, but this book brings me closer to understanding those people.  And “those people” are right here in the city I work in.  I see them every single day and, once in a while, communicate with them or hand them my change.  It’s different, now.  I can’t explain it, but you should read the book! 

Here’s a taste of Yankoski’s Take Home Message:

“The last time we saw Henry was the day before we left San Francisco for Phoenix as he was stumbling through the center of the park, talking frantically to himself, shaking his fists wildly at the sky.  All I could think about was the fact that Jesus spent time with people just like Henry.  Jesus came to them, healed them, cast the demons out of them – gave them life and peace.

But here’s the thing:  Jesus expects us to reach out to Henrys, too – and He draws the expectation in the clearest of terms.  How we treat people in this life will determine whether we hear “whatever you did for one of the least of these… you did for me” (Matthew 25:40) or “whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me” (Matthew 25:45, emphasis added).

Ultimately, it doesn’t matter whether Henry or the man who thinks he’s Jesus are clinically diagnosed as mentally ill or spiritually described as demon possessed.  Neither label gets us off the hook of what we are called to do and be in their lives.”

 

    

 (the author)

 

Who are we to pick and choose who to love?

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 08 2008
Great-Granny Grandma

Another thought provoking and convicting post. Did you ever read The Soloist by Steve Lopez?

14 08 2008
melodymilbrandt

Excellent Annie. And congrats on being almost through it, too. Good for you. Reading is such a wonderful thing. Especially when we are intentional in it, as we are called to be in everything. I love that you share how the Lord is using this book in your life. Awesome.

22 08 2008
Lofter

Wow… what a wonderfully powerful post. Well done, and I’ll be looking for “Under the Overpass.” God bless!

Leave a Reply

