Elizabeth

12 11 2008

Well, I told you to stay tuned

My friend and I talked, and we decided together that our dear diabetic kitty’s suffering must come to an end.  Unfortunately, both the cost and commitment of treating her disease are too high for us to pay.

Poor cat cannot walk normally, and when she sits down, her back legs slide out.  She tries to bring them back in, and she ends up thumping them on the floor like a rabbit.  That can’t feel good.

She is hungry all day.  She’s been eating regular senior cat food, which is full of carbohydrates that her body can’t even use for energy.  Her large water dish has to be filled a couple of times a day, and her litter box…

Oh, her litter box!

I want to gag, just thinking about it.

So, Friday is the day.  I will take her in, and I will cry.  But I am glad her discomfort will be over.

100_0211

Actions

Information

9 responses

12 11 2008
Brody

that is very sad, but I agree that is the right decision.

I’m sorry you have to go through this.

12 11 2008
thisiskristin

that last comment was me.. I was logged in as Brody, he must’ve been using my computer!

13 11 2008
Rowan

oh, Annie. I am so sorry. I agree with Kristin that it is the right decision for all including the kitty. I’ll be lifting you up Friday. love you so.

13 11 2008
melodymilbrandt

Sweet Annie – I’ll be praying for you. And I too, agree you have made the most loving and compassionate decision. Hugs to you.
Melody

13 11 2008
Mom

It is so sad, but you have made the right choice for Elizabeth. Do you want me to come with you Friday? I would be happy to come if it would help. Love and prays for you, Ryan, Rvyre, and Mal…Mom

13 11 2008
Shawn Bashor

That’s sad…I’m kind of bummed for you.

14 11 2008
katemcdonald

hope today wasn’t too sad for you

14 11 2008
annie

Not the best day ever… But I know we did the right thing. I never expect it to be so hard to say goodbye to a pet, but it always is. Thanks, all, for the support! It really does help.

On goes life.

2 04 2009
3 Year Old Grief « redcedar

[…] family has had to say goodbye to 3 pets within the last 12 months.  First, there was Cedar.  Then Elizabeth.  Finally, Sunday night, it was Sage’s […]

Leave a Reply

