Traditions…

26 11 2008

I love family traditions.  They formulate so many of my childhood memories, and they’ve been so fun to develop with my own husband and children.

Thanksgiving seems to be the ultimate traditional meal.  I mean, there are somethings that you just can’t leave out.  I love how people are trying new things, though. 

The Tofurkey. 

tofurky3

 

The Turducken.

meat-turducken

 

Kinda weird… but cool!

We always stick to the traditional turkey.  Mashed potatoes, stuffing, green bean casserole, cranberries, jello salad, warm rolls – all staple.  The thing I think I look forward to most, however, is the sweet potatoes!  Thanksgiving is the only time throughout the year that we eat sweet potatoes, and I love them.  They are tasty, nutritious, and can be prepared in so many different ways.

What so you look forward to eating most ~ tomorrow?

Any special traditions?  or are you trying something NEW?

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 11 2008
Raquel TWG

PIIIIIEEEEEE. And stuffing. Those are the two things I’m looking forward to eating.

This year, we’re breaking “tradition” I guess, although there’s never really been one. My family normally gets invited to couple Thanksgiving dinners and we just pick one to go. This year, my pastor [who is also my best friend’s dad] invited my family over for Thanksgiving. My parents told me that they’re probably going to drop me off their and then go to someone else’s house. It’s weird not to eat with my family on Thanksgiving, since I always have, but I’m really excited. I love my family, but I’m always with them and this year I’ll actually have a friend to talk to (:

26 11 2008
Emily

I’m really looking forward to the pumpkin pie. It is my absolute favorite! I’ll eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I hope you all have a great Thanksgiving! We miss you, but we are very much looking forward to seeing everyone at Christmas!

27 11 2008
6justmyopinion

Yep, we are traditional also. Exactly, (almost same) as yours.
Having about 18 people today. Cannot wait.

Love you, have a great day.

Barb

29 11 2008
lukemundy

My family did a turducken this year! I was at my in-law’s however so I didn’t get to try it 😦

We had a pretty small gathering this year so we didn’t want to mess with a full bird. Instead we did turkey cutlets. They were okay, but not quite the same!

6 12 2009
Bettina Byrd-Giles

You hit the nail on the head. The sweet potatoes make the dinner.

Leave a Reply

