Positive Post Tuesday

20 01 2009

Yes, today is an historic day.  I know.  I know.

Today is my “little” brother’s THIRTIETH BIRTHDAY!

100_4870

Oh, my little brother’s the big one.  Jonas will be ONE in just a month!

I was talking with some coworkers last week about one of their predicaments with a father who might pass soon and all the headaches the siblings are anticipating while trying to divide up dad’s things.  (Dad doesn’t want to have a will.)  One comment that I made was that I cannot imagine fighting with my brother about ANYTHING, now that we are adults.  If we were put in that situation, I honestly think we’d do just fine.  Mind you, we fought almost constantly as kids!  Now, I know that I am blessed to have David as a brother.  I appreciate his humility, his open ear, and his thoughtful advice.

Today, as he joins me in the 30’s, I look forward to many more years of friendship and watching our kids grow up together.

Happy Birthday, David!  Can’t wait to see you tonight for Lindsey’s lasagna…

On another obvious (and positive) note, I just wanted to encourage everyone to pray for our new President!  He’s made some big promises.  He’s stirred up a new hope for many Americans.  Let’s lift him up and see what God has in store.

Amen?

Ooh, and one more positive note:  I finished The Shack!  And I’m really looking forward to hearing the author speak this coming Sunday.

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 01 2009
Kristin

Happy birthday to him!! He shares the day with Aiden!

20 01 2009
Brody

30!! Dang. What happened to us??

20 01 2009
Rowan

Happy Birthday, David! And many happy returns of the day!

21 01 2009
Melody Milbrandt

#1 – Yes, a very happy b-day.
#2 – Amen! I am praying, praying, praying over our new president. Our Wed. intercessory prayer group spent almost the whole time praying over he, Michelle, and the rest of our leaders.
#3 – Congrats on finishing it. I loved it! I can’t believe you are getting to hear William P. Young speak. I wanna hear all about it! 🙂
#4 – Praying for you and the family.
Hugs from MO

21 01 2009
Mom

You both, David and you, are such a blessing to Dad and I. Yesterday when we were celebrating David’s b-Day I told him this was why I had wanted children. I wanted to raise people who would be honest and responible and good people. When I first wanted children I wasn’t a believer and that was enough for me, but to have two adults who are NOW raising another generation in the truth of God’s wisdom is even more of a blessing and more than I could have seen. God is good and God has a wonderful plan.

Leave a Reply

