Heart Day

14 02 2009

candy-hearts

Valentine’s Day is a holiday that folks either love or hate.  Some treasure the prompting to do special things for loved ones.  Others claim it is a “Hallmark Holiday,” a waste of money.

I don’t have strong feelings about it.

I mean, honestly, I don’t see any reason why we should show our love for each other any more on this day than on other days.  It can even add unnecessary stress, trying to come up with something creative or romantic.

Then again, it’s hard to ignore.

I bought each of my family members a box of candy, and we’re going to spend the day (if the weather holds up) at the local Nature Center; they’re having an open house.  We’ll do some hiking and get some fresh air.  Maybe learn a thing or two, too!

Then tonight, we’re celebrating my father-in-law’s birthday!  He turned 50 on the 4th!

Do you have any special plans for today?  What’s your take on Valentine’s Day, in general?  I’m curious…

Whatever you do, I wish you a good day.

God bless.

Actions

Information

One response

17 02 2009
Rowan

I completely forgot for the first time in a long time, but Valentine’s Day is the day that Heidi and I used to celebrate our Friendship Anniversary. This year makes for 32 years of friendship. Even though we don’t get to see each other that often, she’s still my BFF!

Leave a Reply

