Crazy becomes normal.

13 05 2009

prego

It’s funny to me how certain ideas or occurrences in life often take time to sink in.  I’ve been pondering this quite a bit lately.

When Ryan and I discovered I was pregnant for the first time, the idea of us being Dad and Mom was crazy.  We weren’t sure we were ready.  We tried to digest the fact and prepare, but there was no way of knowing what life would be like when our daughter came along.

For the next 8 years, being a family of 3 grew to be normal.  Life went on, a day at a time, and we functioned as 3.

Our second pregnancy again brought a crazy idea:  becoming a family of 4.  It was so hard to imagine that life could change that much!  We were excited and happy and bewildered.  Now, we’ve been 4 for over 3 years.  It is so normal that we can hardly remember what it was like without our son and little brother in our lives.

Our family felt complete.

Ryan was not shy in voicing that we would not be having any more babies.  He was done with hospitals, diapers, and long nights with little sleep.  As the stay-at-home parent, he got 51% of the vote, and I was ok with that.

I’m still not sure what changed his mind…  Does he want to catch up to our friends with 3 kids before we are too old?  Is Malachi fighting him off now, when he tries to pick that little nose (and he needs another little nose to pick)?  Does he think that having a bigger family will convince me that we should live in a big house?  ha ha!  We’re probably looking at a combo of reasons.

And here we are, expecting our 5th family member on 10/31/09.  I really am amazed at His Blessings on us.  His blessings are crazy!

God has blessed me with easy pregnancies (enjoyable, even); I am so thankful for that.  This one is no different ~ so far.  No morning sickness.  No food cravings.  No issues with diabetes, blood pressure, or water retention.  In fact, the first physical evidence that there was an actual baby in there was hearing that little heart beat at my first Dr. visit ~ 152 precious beats per minute. 

I lost my breath in that moment! 

This is no less a miracle than our previous experiences.  I am constantly in awe of what God is doing in my body.  It’s hard to put into words.

Next Thanksgiving, we’ll be celebrating as a family of 5.  Still crazy now…  By Christmas, it might be normal.

Actions

Information

6 responses

13 05 2009
hootenannie

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYY!!!! Congratulations!

14 05 2009
pregnancy

Congratulations!! How lucky your family are!
Happy to hear that 😀

14 05 2009
Mom

I so enjoy your musings. You are gifted in so many ways…writing is one of your gifts…another is your loving nature. I can’t wait to meet the fifth Nelson.

Mom

14 05 2009
anon4him

awwww ^_^ Congratulations!!! I love the way you worded that: “152 precious beats per minute. ” I actually lost my breath when I read that 🙂

15 05 2009
Eric

Hey! That’s a very good news!!!
congratulation!!! 🙂

16 05 2009
Rowan

Beautifully written, love. Can’t wait to meet him or her! You really are blessed.

Leave a Reply

