Monday Perspective ~ Be still and wait…

18 05 2009

Yesterday, I triumphantly got my kiddos ready and out the door for the early service.  We wanted to spend as much time as possible at my parents’ house, since we’d missed them on Mother’s Day.  Oh, and also it was like 100 degrees, and they have a pool.

I found myself sitting in the sanctuary, Bible open, at the edge of my seat.  The regular pastor was not there.  Speaking instead was a pastor that my family used to hear at our “old” church.  Now, I can’t say he had me at the edge of my seat back then, but yesterday, his message hit home for me.  Also, he’s been a much bigger part of my life since those days, but maybe I’ll write about that another time.

Anyway, part of the message was based on this scripture: 

Psalm 37

 1 Do not fret because of evil men
       or be envious of those who do wrong; 2 for like the grass they will soon wither,
       like green plants they will soon die away.

 3 Trust in the LORD and do good;
       dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.

 4 Delight yourself in the LORD
       and he will give you the desires of your heart.

 5 Commit your way to the LORD;
       trust in him and he will do this:

 6 He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn,
       the justice of your cause like the noonday sun.

 7 Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him;
       do not fret when men succeed in their ways,
       when they carry out their wicked schemes.

 8 Refrain from anger and turn from wrath;
       do not fret—it leads only to evil.

 9 For evil men will be cut off,
       but those who hope in the LORD will inherit the land.

There’s a lot there.  I think it is relevant encouragement for Christians in these economic times.  All around us, people are doing whatever it takes to to maintain their lifestyle, keep their toys, put on a show, survive.  Becoming a criminal may be better than showing weakness or asking for help.

We know better, right?

But the most significant part of the scripture to me was the part in bold:  Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him.

The fast pace of life can be overwhelming.  The world tells us that we deserve immediate satisfaction.  The Bible doesn’t say that.  The Bible says, “Be still” and “Wait.”

I choose to wait patiently for…

…an open door to share my faith with my coworker.

…some stability in my paycheck and job security.

…the means to pay off my debt.

…a dog for my kids.

…a comfortable home.

…my daughter to grow out of boy-craziness.

…the miserable season of summer (which hasn’t even officially started yet) to end.

…our newest family member to arrive.

Some of these things may never happen. 

All of these things have the capacity to bring worry and anxiety into my life.  But our Lord also says:  Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  (Philippians 4:6)

Time is a funny thing.  It causes us fear and stress.  But if we learn to trust and wait patiently on the Lord, we find that His timing is a gift and a blessing.  

 

time

 

Happy Monday!

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 05 2009
Great-Granny Grandma

Good message.

I tend to try to help God along and wind up messing things up. What a difference when I choose instead to be patient and wait.

What I have learned, mostly the hard way, is that His time may not be my time, but it’s always the best time.

18 05 2009
6justmyopinion

Very well said, Annie.. He was really good yesterday. I love that passage. A person could live there for a while and keep learning.

I, too, must wait on many things..thank you so much for the reminder…

I love you, Barb

18 05 2009
anon4him

Good post ^_^

26 05 2009
melodymilbrandt

Miss Annie, this post is so awesome. I was very blessed reading it. Great scripture, wonderful reflections, and also… I loved knowing what you are praying and waiting on. I will be praying with you my blog friend.
Have a blessed week!

Leave a Reply

