PPT ~ 8 Years and counting!

2 06 2009

Ryan and I are on a 4 year cycle. 

We first got together in 1989 (junior high).  That lasted for about 8 months, if I recall.

We remained in contact, though, and I believe it was 1993 (high school) when we had another brief time of “going out.”  I don’t remember how long it lasted or why it ended!

In 1997, we had a baby.  We’d reconnected in 1996 and decided that we were serious this time – no more games.  We’d dated others.  We knew that our friendship could stand the test of time, and we felt like that gave us a strong foundation.  The baby, of course, was unplanned.  (By us, that is.  God is the One who anticipated her and made her!)  I was in college, at this time.

2001:

wedding cake

 

Four years after our wedding, our son came along.  We decided we wanted another child in 2002, but God knew that 2005 was the year.  I think He is orchestrating this 4 year cycle…

Now, in 2009, we are expecting our 3rd (and probably last) child.  So exciting!

I love that God gives us free will, and yet, He always has a hand in our lives.  He’s such a better Planner than I am.  I find comfort in knowing that He has the reigns.  Even when I screw up, He manages to work things out for my good.

Anyway, today, Ryan and I celebrate 8 years of marriage.  It seems like a whole lot longer.  In a good way!  Love you, Ry. 

I wonder what God will do in 2013???

This post is part of Positive Post Tuesday (PPT).

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 06 2009
Rowan

Happy Anniversary!
Still one of my favorite wedding ever!
Love you guys!
+

2 06 2009
Emily

Happy Anniversary! That thing about every four years is crazy! haha..when did you figure that out?

3 06 2009
annie

I know. Wierd, huh? I figured it out this year…

6 06 2009
Great-Granny Grandma

Only saw this post today, so my wishes are late, but Happy Anniversary anyway! And many moire to come!

15 06 2009
melodymilbrandt

I loved reading this Annie (and seeing the pic was fun, too). I hope your anniversary was a great one. I am sure there are many more to come. What a gift that God really does work all things together for our wonderful good – even when the original timing sometimes surprises us.

Leave a Reply

