Things I’ve been making…

20 07 2009
Baby blankie #6?  ...of 2009.  And #7 is not far behind!

Baby blankie #6? ...of 2009. And #7 is not far behind!

Poisonous ant bait.  Thanks Great Granny Grandma!

Poisonous ant bait. Thanks Great Granny Grandma!

This is the BEST method I’ve tried.  Unfortunately, I believe we live on a giant ant hill, made up of numerous colonies…  I might have to do this once a week for a while!

Malachi helped me make this beach tote out of plastic grocery bags.

Malachi helped me make this beach tote out of plastic grocery bags.

I found the pattern online and HAD to try it.  As much as I try to remember to bring my reusable bags to the store, I inevitably forget about every other trip (or more), ending up with all these bags I hate to throw away.  This is one way to reuse them!  What do you think?

OK.  God is making this one!  We're at 25 weeks and counting...

OK. God is making this one! We're at 25 weeks and counting...

What else have I been wanting to make???

SMOOTHIES.  Anybody have a good, healthy recipe?  We are definitely experiencing smoothie weather around here.

What have you made lately?

Actions

Information

8 responses

21 07 2009
Emily

Those ants are huge!! The ants we get attacked with are super tiny. I can’t imagine being invaded by those guys. Yuck!!

That bag is great! I had never thought of using those bags in that way. Very cool!

I love seeing that little baby growing in there. I was just realizing this week that the baby is coming in just about three more months. Man, this pregnancy has flown by (for me at least..haha)!

21 07 2009
annie

Em ~ maybe the photo is deceiving… The ants are only about 3mm long at the most (are yours smaller than that?). I’ve seen larger ones outside, but those guys don’t tend to come in the house. Thank God.

The pregnancy is going by super fast for me, too!

23 07 2009
Mom

Love the blanket, love the bag, love Malachi, love you and your sweetie on the way. Do not love the ants. I’m dealing with them myself…ugh!

23 07 2009
Great-Granny Grandma

I love that tote bag you made. Do you still have the pattern or the link you found it on?

29 07 2009
Great-Granny Grandma

Thanks for the link to the pattern. I am now collecting bags so I’ll have enough to get started.

8 08 2009
missydoll

DId you make that ant bait? If so, I will trade you a smoothie recipe for an ant bait recipe…Shake?

9 08 2009
annie

I got this recipe from Great Granny Grandma (see link on right).

Mix 1 cup of warm water with 1/2 cup of sugar, and 2 tablespoons of Borax. Then soak the mixture up with cotton balls and place those cotton balls near any trails the ants have established.

I placed the cotton balls in strategic places along the counter, window sill, and ledge behind my sink. Then I turned off the light and went to bed.

Be sure to pick them up the next morning, or they will become like rocks that are very, very stuck!

25 01 2010
Tracy

Love the plarn bag Annie! I’ve been saving my bags just to make one of these.

Leave a Reply

