Back to School Night

28 08 2009

Steam+Roller

Life is steam-rolling ahead.

I spent 2.5 hours at my daughter’s middle school, last night.  I bought her a yearbook (hope that check clears), caught up with some other parents I hadn’t seen in a while, and went to a 10 minute session for each of Ryvre’s  6 classes.

I have lived in this area for most of my life, and yet, I was unfamiliar with the campus.  A bunch of my friends growing up went to this school, though.  Back then, its reputation was less than desirable.  These days, a new leaf has been turned, it seems.  The current principle is motivated, energetic, and determined to see the kids through this pivotal time in life and come out successful academically.  I appreciate that.

I mentioned before that I have ramped up my prayer life, regarding my first-born as she grows into a young lady.  She is boy crazy.  She is addicted to the telephone.  She is attitudinal, at times.  I think she’s pretty normal!

I’d like to request some prayer for myself…

Despite my daughter’s expanding independence, I still have a responsibility to both protect her and teach her how to be responsible.  Some of her sense of responsibility will come with age and maturity, but she also depends on having a good example.  I want to be that example without nagging and yelling at her about how she should be.  Easier said than done sometimes.

In addition, I know that it is important to stay involved (to a reasonable extent) with her school work and activities.  This is a weakness of mine.  My parents never really had to stay on top of that stuff much, for me, since I was one of those kids who took my grades seriously and couldn’t stand not doing well!  She is NOT me.  Which is perfectly fine.  Ryan and I just to be disciplined enough to partner with her in this thing called education.

Last night provided a picture of what my daughter’s school days look like, and it was a tad bit intimidating.  If she weren’t so wrapped up in her social life, I bet she’d be intimidated, too!  As she complained about having to type up 6 pages of history notes at the computer before I left, I had to tell her that school will continue to get more challenging, as she grows up.  With our help, and the support of family, I am confident she will do well.

I am excited to see her grow.

I am, admittedly, a bit fearful about the same thing.

Lord, please give me the energy and the patience.  This is a worthy investment.

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 08 2009
melodymilbrandt

Hiya Miss Annie. It’s been so fun catching up on the posts I have missed out on this last little bit here. The pics of Malachi, so adorable! And I love the cool stuff you’ve been making. You are so creative! I think my fav picture was of your cute baby belly side shot. So happy and excited for you all in that still. I continue to pray for you guys; baby, house, job stuff, kiddos, etc.
Regarding this post, I can definitely relate. I will be partnering with you in prayer for your growing girl. Hang in there. God knows exactly how to guide, encourage, and energize you and Ryan for this. You are clearly awesome parental units and it is doable with the Dear Lord on your side. 🙂
Hugs and prayers from Missouri

29 08 2009
Kristin

You are entering a different time of life than me! I will have to call on you for advice in the future.

Will pray for Ryvre and for you!

Leave a Reply

