5 04 2010

Well, I haven’t gushed about the baby lately, and I think it’s about time.

Zea and Rowdy

I wish I could say that I spend every waking moment staring at my baby girl, which is what I want to do, but unfortunately (and fortunately) I have a full-time job that pulls me away from home for 12 hours Monday through Thursday.  Soon, that will probably include some Friday’s, too, since Schwarzenegger lost a court battle over furloughs for specially funded programs like mine.  The upside is that I might get to see what my whole paycheck actually looks like before he tries to cut our pay again!

But back to the baby.  Zea, as I have said before, is made of raw sugar.  I am not the only person who thinks this, as everyone always says she is so SWEET.  When I get home each day, I am greeted by the biggest smiles her tiny head can make.  They melt my heart every time.  I cannot get enough.

She’s getting closer to being able to sit up on her own, now.  She can roll herself over.  She can use her hands purposefully, playing with her baby doll, shaking rattles, and putting other toys in her mouth.  She laughs for us if we do just the right thing at just the right time with just the right expression on our face!

Her soft hair is changing from dark to light.  She’s getting rolls.  I think she’s teething, too.

Those of you who are not mothers might get tired of the cliches.  Time flies when you have children.  They grow up way too fast.  These things are true; that’s why they are repeated so much.

My advice to other moms is to live in the moment.  Study your babies from head to toe.  Tell them everything you have to say.  Kiss them.  Massage them.  Stay up late or get up early with them when they need you.  Take them with you as much as you can.  These are the things I do, and they ease the feeling that that the years are accelerating.

I can always clean the house later…

I read about people who cannot have children.  Or worse.  People who abuse the children they have.  And I am learning every day that parenthood is a privilege, not a right.  I thank God for entrusting me with the wonderful young ones I have.  They are His, really.  I do my best to care for their needs with His provision.  They are my daily blessings.

Got kind of deep there…

Anyway, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but I’m rather fond of Zea.

God bless!

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 04 2010
hootenannie

I love Zea and her round head!! What a little sugar drop. 🙂

5 04 2010
anon4him

My nephew just rolled over for the first time today, and he’s been giggling since he was born (literally – then night he was born he was giggling in his sleep). I’ve never had the privilege of spending so much time with such a happy baby 🙂 He fills my life with joy! I’m glad that Zea provides you with so much joy too! Babies are such a blessing!

18 04 2010
melodymilbrandt

Sweet Annieeeeeeee –

Hi hi hi! I got your wonderful comment on fb. And… I promptly posted on my blog. 🙂 Thank you. I’ve missed ya and I adored getting on here to find this fabulous post about your tiniest tiny one. 🙂 Awwww, she is perfect! I pray for your fam still and think of you often. Big Missouri hugs.
Melody

Leave a Reply

